Results

I went to see the doctor on Monday and had some blood tests to check my blood sugar – both fasting and 3 month average levels. The doctor checked my weight, said ‘Have you managed to lose any weight?’ and I said ‘Yes…’ and then she did a double take at my records and said ‘Bloody hell, you’ve lost 14kg!’

The results of my blood tests were that my fasting sugar is down from 6.6 to 5.2, and my three month average sugar level is completely normal. For reference, apparently a fasting blood sugar of over 7 is a diagnosis of diabetes, between 6 and 6.9 is pre-diabetes (and a high risk of developing diabetes shortly) and between 4 and 5.9 is normal.

I had two weeks off the diet completely – one where I was on a camping holiday, and one where I wasn’t feeling at all well (summer coldy thing) and craved food. I put on half a stone, but lost about half of that almost immediately I started even attempting the diet again. I’m working away again now, and my scales are at home, so I’m not sure what I weigh exactly, but I’m back on the diet and sticking to it so far for a few days. It all feels very manageable at the moment.

So in the first ten weeks of this diet, I’ve achieved my main goal, which was to get my blood sugar readings back into the normal range and remove the risk of developing diabetes. I’m hoping that when I weigh myself I’ll be within a stone, or about a month, of my original goal weight of 12 stone 7, or Wedding Day weight…

This entry was posted in Healing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Results

  1. susanlanigan says:

    That’s fantastic, Eleanor. Am delighted for you.

Leave a Reply

